Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, Mar. 06, 2004 - 9:58 P.M.

Sometimes the best friendships are those you are forced into.

Maybe �forced� isn�t the right word. Let me explain.

See, when I was in school I was not unpopular per se, but I wasn�t exactly rockin� the parties every weekend either. I was on the fringe. I was on the edge of popularity. I was most definitely a �wanna be.� And sometimes I was. Most times I wasn�t. Wanted to be though.

So there you are, hangin� on the fringe and every now and then you get invited in. Not often, but occasionally. Anyhow, once you are invited in you have to make the best of that time. Like, you have to pull out all the stops to impress the right people (or, rather, in all the wisdom you have wrung from your 16 years, who you think are the right people). If you do that perhaps you�ll be invited back. Maybe these incredibly bright people who have their hearts in completely the right place and are not at all self-centered or self-involved will see how much fun you are. I mean, you can lay it down baby! You can light it up! YOU can get the party started! How can they not see you for what you are? YOU. ARE. THE. SHIT. Right? Right?

Well, no. No you�re really not. And frankly? You come to find out you don�t want to be. At least not with this particular group of people. So you go hang with the other outcasts. At first, you tell yourself you really want to kick it with these jokers and you are doing it purely by choice. But then? A funny thing happens. You find that's where you bond. That's where you are the shit. But, then, everyone else is too. You are all equally shitty. Hmm. Equally shitty?

Anyhow, you see my point.

0 comments so far

You Give Me Fervor - Friday, Feb. 17, 2006
Revamped Sex Camp - Thursday, Jan. 26, 2006
I'm Not Dead - Tuesday, Jan. 10, 2006
Ebert And Roeper? Watch Your Backs. - Tuesday, Nov. 29, 2005
Coffee? Tea? Map? - Monday, Nov. 07, 2005

� Purplecigar

[ Registered ]

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!