Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Apr. 21, 2004 - 1:04 P.M.

You know how sometimes you�re reading a book and a passage will catch your eye and it will just inspire you so much? Like you feel that you can put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard, if you are so inclined) right that very moment and the Great American Novel will come pouring out? Or you read an item in the newspaper or an article in a magazine and you just want to go write right then? Or song lyrics even. Or a billboard! Okay, not the billboard. My enthusiasm ran amuck for a second there.

For me, most recently anyway, the books I Had Brain Surgery, What�s Your Excuse?, Dry and The Secret Life Of Bees have completely inspired me. In the middle of these books, I just thought--They make it look so effortless. I could do that! Of course, it�s certainly not easy breezy and frankly, I can�t do it or I would be sunning on my yacht right now with my own personal clone of Brad Pitt. On second thought, I�d have money, so maybe I�d just hire the real Mr. Pitt. Whadya think he goes for? Jenny could come too. After all, we�d need someone to haul in our shrimp net, pluck those jokers out, and boil and peel them.

There are many, many entries on DiaryLand that inspire me as well. It honestly amazes me that you all are just so good. You who write the long entries make me seriously jealous. I am envious not only of the length of these entries but of the fact that they really do have something to say. You aren�t just spouting for spouting�s sake. Or, if you are, you certainly have disguised it well. I just do not possess the patience to write such a lengthy entry. And hey, if you�ve read one here that you thought was too lengthy, just droned on and on, had nothing to say and that afterward you felt was a waste of your time, well then, why are you reading this? You are clearly lacking the ability to see---you know what? Don�t you have a some little old ladies to push down or something?

All my life I have aspired to be a writer. All my life I�ve thought that I had it in me, that, you know, I just needed to gain life experience to have something to write about. I�m 34, thisclose to 35. I ain�t saying that�s old but for me? Considering breast cancer is going to get me before I�m 50, I�m like, 63 in �cancer years.�

Thing is though, I feel I have had plenty of life experience. Some good. Some bad. Some even worse. Surely out of it all I can glean one tiny topic to write about, no?

Well, the idea hasn�t walked up and introduced itself to me yet. Or has it?

7 comments so far

You Give Me Fervor - Friday, Feb. 17, 2006
Revamped Sex Camp - Thursday, Jan. 26, 2006
I'm Not Dead - Tuesday, Jan. 10, 2006
Ebert And Roeper? Watch Your Backs. - Tuesday, Nov. 29, 2005
Coffee? Tea? Map? - Monday, Nov. 07, 2005

� Purplecigar

[ Registered ]

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!