Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, May. 11, 2004 - 2:12 P.M.

Okay folks. I�m well and truly pissed. This is definitely a different sort of entry for me. It�s my first foray (I think, anyway) into what currently is a hotly debated topic. I considered making this entry private. Probably should have. �Cause I know it�s going to really torque some people.

I hope that any of you who read this are of the mind that one may write and speak their own opinion without retribution. What I am about to say is not popular opinion. At least not judging by some of the entries I�ve read recently, many of which were written by people and writers I so admire and will continue to admire despite our apparent difference of opinion. Blah, blah, blah preface and disclaimer cakes. Here we go.

This is not a political entry as you could put all that I know about politics on the head of a pin. (I am fully aware that sentence could possibly be used against me.) Rather, this is an entry about fairness. Not the whiny �but that�s not fairrrr� fairness, the �if there�s no accountability for the goose, there should be no accountability for the gander� fairness. I�m a huge stickler for fairness. Often, as you can imagine, I am greatly disappointed, as this world is not fair.

Today, there is a news story that �a video posted on an Islamic militant web site showed a group affiliated with al-Qaida beheading an American civilian in Iraq, saying the death was revenge for the abuse of Iraqi prisoners by American soldiers.� Nick Berg. That�s his name and though he deserves so much more than this, all I can do is respect him henceforth by calling him, Mr. Berg. They made Mr. Berg state his name, his parents and brother and sister�s names and where he was from and then they cut off Mr. Berg�s head. On camera. I am absolutely infuriated. Well before the story broke about the abuse (and notice I don�t say alleged abuse because I fully believe it has taken place--more on that in a minute) there were stories of not only American contractors, but contractors from other countries shot, stabbed, beaten, hung from bridges and burned by militant extremists. That these fuckers are using the abuse as an excuse to kill more people totally pisses me off. Let�s call a spade a spade. They are not doing it because of the abuse. They would do it anyway. They have done it anyway. They will continue to do it anyway.

I wish, just for kicks, we had a magic machine that would show us what the world would look like if we addressed every grievance and complaint militant Islamic extremists have with America or any other country. I would bet you all that I have in the world that landscape would be just as scary. None of this would have stopped. It will never stop. I hate these people. Hate. Hate. Hate. And, they hate me. And all Americans. And anyone else who does not believe as they do. Those of you who sympathize with them? They hate you. They would cut your throat in a minute. They would cut your children�s throats. There is nothing you could say to them to sway their opinion. They hate you. They have been raised on hate. I certainly did not start out hating them. But you can be sure they started out hating me. And you. And, to you sympathizers, I say this, if Mr. Berg were your brother or your father or nephew or son, would you still sympathize? If so, GO LIVE THERE. PUT YOUR MONEY WHERE YOUR MOUTH IS AND HEAD IT ON OVER TO IRAQ. I certainly will not miss you. Take Alec Baldwin with you. Uh, but please leave Billy.

The story goes on to say that these homicidal maniac serial killers then held up Mr. Berg�s head to the camera and said, �You will not receive anything from us but coffins after coffins...slaughtered in this way.� When were we ever assured anything from them but coffins after coffins? The prison abuse has not served to amp up the militant Islamic maniacal ways, they have been amped up. They will stay amped up. They were fairly fucking amped up on 9/11 weren�t they? And when the U.S.S. Cole was bombed? And the first time the World Trade Center was bombed? And when the barracks of U.S. Marines were bombed? And when the U.S. Embassy was bombed?

As for the prison abuse I, like most people in the world, abhor it. It�s terrible. I certainly don�t condone it. But, as an American, I�m not embarrassed by it either. The reason? After 9/11 we practically fell all over ourselves to try and not lump all Muslims together, and rightly so. Not all Muslims felt this way or were plotting to kill us. We heard that over and over and over again from our own media. Why then, now that it�s Americans behind the eight ball, are they and the rest of OUR OWN COUNTRY so quick to be embarrassed and shamed by it? All Americans didn�t abuse these unfortunate people. Not all Americans feel the need or desire to torture and humiliate Iraqi prisoners. Why can�t we afford ourselves the same courtesy we bent over backwards to afford others after 9/11?

There are those of you who will say that the Red Cross tried to tell the administration of the abuse way earlier. To you I say, good point. For the Red Cross, I have some questions. I�d like to know this, why if they knew the abuse was going on and, according to them the administration knew and did nothing about it, why did the Red Cross not take it to the media and shout it from the rooftops? Why would they not do anything they could to stop it? Why would the Red Cross wait for the administration to take the lead in that? They are the Red Cross. They are not some bush league operation. They are not some tiny-voiced Joe Schmo in rural Oklahoma who no one would hear. They are the RED CROSS. The. Red. Cross. Huge organization? Anyone ever heard of it? Yeah, I thought so. Which is not to say I blame the Red Cross in any way at all. I�m just saying.

Let me be clear. I�m not advocating torture. Of any kind to anyone. It�s very, very wrong. I am, however, suspicious of the timing of the release of these pictures. If you don�t think it�s politically motivated, you are certifiable. Call your local asylum and see if they have a room. Tell them you are coming. Let's just think about this for a minute�someone had these photos and waited until what they deemed the right moment to spring them. How many Iraqi�s were tortured in the time they were holding these pics in their paw? Do you think they care about that?

I�m sure some of you will think I am a Republican. You will think that I have been drinking from the Bush Kool-Aid cup. I�m not a Republican. I used to think I was a Democrat but, long before Chris Rock used the same schtick, I decided I wanted to make choices based on the individual issues and individuals themselves, not vote a certain way because I felt the need to be loyal to any certain party. This has sent my husband over the edge and we�ve fought about it till the wee hours of the morn.

Again, this is merely and solely my opinion. It is not up for debate. You won�t change my mind and I�m not going to change yours. If I am lucky enough to have anyone read this, I won�t be responding to comments or notes on this entry. I have said what I wanted and I will afford you the same courtesy. Say what you want.

Mr. Nick Berg. Remember that name.

5 comments so far

You Give Me Fervor - Friday, Feb. 17, 2006
Revamped Sex Camp - Thursday, Jan. 26, 2006
I'm Not Dead - Tuesday, Jan. 10, 2006
Ebert And Roeper? Watch Your Backs. - Tuesday, Nov. 29, 2005
Coffee? Tea? Map? - Monday, Nov. 07, 2005

� Purplecigar

[ Registered ]

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!