Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Jun. 10, 2004 - 9:26 A.M.

There are some things I�ve noticed about my writing style since I�ve been doing DiaryLand entries. Certain patterns that weren�t previously known to me have shown themselves. I�m running the risk, however, that once I point them out to you, you�ll focus only on these things and not my incredibly serious writing. That would be such a shame as I have so much of significance to say. Except, not. Self-mockery and self-importance cannot co-exist in this entry.

Let�s mock.

1. I love�ellipsis. To be completely honest with you, I have no idea what the proper usage is for ellipsis. And, if you�ve been reading for any period of time�you probably know that already. Actually, I just looked it up and, not surprisingly, I don�t believe I�ve used them properly�ever.

2. I use parentheticals (a lot). I don�t really know why. It�s like I can�t be bothered to write another sentence to express an additional thought, I must contain it in parentheses. I also appear to have a hard time not adding an additional thought (damn, I suck).

3. I love italics. Seriously. I don�t know that I�ve ever written an entry without them and I don�t know that I ever will. It�s my way of saying, �Pay attention to me!� or, �Hello. I�m sarcasm. What�s your name?� Indeed, I�m sure I am using italics improperly as well. I�m okay with that.

4. I enjoy the use of all CAPS. In my world, all caps conveys either shouting or sarcasm too extreme for mere italic usage. Example: the acquaintance (at best) who recently asked if she could borrow my ChapStick while she had a big honking blister on her lip. My reply would look like this, �UH, NO. Let�s see if we can�t put a glob of ointment on that stockpile of INFECTION, �kay?�

5. I will use commas at the drop of a hat. Since I didn�t really pay attention in language arts (�cause I sat next to this incredibly cute boy who always smelled so, so, so good), I�m sure I don�t use the commas in correct places. But, you know, whatever. What, are you the comma police or something?

6. I really like to throw a completely old school or obscure word into my entries. No idea why. Maybe, it�s my way of conveying the farceur in myself. That�s probably giving myself a little too much credit though. Most likely it�s because I�m a dork.

I�m sure there are others. These are just the most glaring to me. If you know of others, feel free to point them out. Trust me, I won�t bite your head off, REALLY. I am completely open to criticism (constructive, backhanded, however you want to give it to me, baby) and I�ll be very, well�open-minded and square.

Not�obtuse.

12 comments so far

You Give Me Fervor - Friday, Feb. 17, 2006
Revamped Sex Camp - Thursday, Jan. 26, 2006
I'm Not Dead - Tuesday, Jan. 10, 2006
Ebert And Roeper? Watch Your Backs. - Tuesday, Nov. 29, 2005
Coffee? Tea? Map? - Monday, Nov. 07, 2005

� Purplecigar

[ Registered ]

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!