Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Oct. 08, 2004 - 3:59 P.M.

This week is Squirrel Appreciation Week. As I write this, I�m wearing my �I�m Nuts For Squirrels� t-shirt. I�m scurrying to make my celebration plans and I�ve wrapped my claws around some acorns and seeds. I�m so excited, I�m fluffing my tail right now.

There are several places in and around Nashville where the squirrels are quite docile. By docile I mean won�t (a) look as if they want to rip out your jugular or (b) run out in front of a car at the mere sight of you. Sometimes you can actually hold food out to the squirrels and they�ll come get it out of your hand real gentle like. The campus of David Lipscomb University is such a place. Years ago a student sat down to enjoy a Baby Ruth. As she brought it to her mouth a squirrel ran up her arm, grabbed the entire candy bar, ran down her other arm and up a tree where it perched on a branch and commenced to eating the chocolately, nutty goodness. Smart squirrel.

October contains some interesting campaigns. For example, October contains National Customer Service Week (6-10) which, according to a press release, BellSouth (phone company to the southeast) is celebrating heartily. For those of you who have no experience with BellSouth, let me say this -- HAH. Ha HA. Comparatively speaking, this is like Taco Bell celebrating National Agriculture Week (March 14-20) and issuing the statement, �We use real beef.�

In addition to being National Customer Service Week, it is also Mental Illness Awareness Week (6-12). Like two peas in a pod, ain�t it?

October is also National Go On A Field Trip Month and also contains National School Lunch Week (13-19). Coincidence?

October 15th is National Grouch Day, October 16th is National Boss Day and October 19th is not only Reptile Awareness Day but also, Evaluate Your Life Day. I think someone is having a little fun with calendars. But that could just be me.

October 27th is Cranky Co-Workers Day, a day that I will celebrate with the pilfered pens and stolen staplers of my own cranky co-workers.

And, finally, the reason this entry is a tongue-in-cheek ode to October�it�s National Sarcastic Awareness Month. I am very aware of my sarcasticness. I�ve been celebrating all year.

On a wholly serious note, October is also National Breast Cancer Awareness month. Go out and get yourself something pink, something sponsored by a cancer research organization of your choice. Everyone who reads this has either already been touched by breast cancer in some way or, sadly, will be at some point in life. It�s a brutal disease. For years I�ve been in the process of writing a book about my grandmother and my mother and their experience with the disease. My mother would have been 57 yesterday had she lived. It would have been nice to write something in honor of her, not in memory of her.

Help save a life today.

4 comments so far

You Give Me Fervor - Friday, Feb. 17, 2006
Revamped Sex Camp - Thursday, Jan. 26, 2006
I'm Not Dead - Tuesday, Jan. 10, 2006
Ebert And Roeper? Watch Your Backs. - Tuesday, Nov. 29, 2005
Coffee? Tea? Map? - Monday, Nov. 07, 2005

� Purplecigar

[ Registered ]

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!