Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Jan. 31, 2005 - 3:07 P.M.

Like the baton in a much ballyhooed, yet ultimately anti-climatic Olympic relay race, the stick has been laid in my hand. Trust me, I know that line is old news but I was at a loss to come up with a catchy opening. After all, it�s not everyday that 1.) you get mentioned in another�s diary; 2.) that diary just happens to be someone you believe to be in possession of other worldly powers of the pen (er, keyboard); and 3.) since this person linked to you in their diary, and presumably this person�s readers may possibly now check out your site, you now have to be spot on because the level of this person�s talent as well as the level of talent of this person�s readers is formidable. To say the least. Or, a lot actually. That was a complete wad of language I just threw at you. Forgive me, I�m a bit frazzled and tic-ish by this development. Annnnnd, now you all realize me for the freak I truly am. Let�s move on before my head implodes and my hands jitter right off my wrists.

I have never done a survey here before. I�ve never had it requested of me before. And certainly not by someone I admire so much. Okay, moving on:

1. What are the total amount of music files on your computer?

Nada. Please allow me to explain before I am cast out of the cool people club. See I have one of those much sought after though extremely hard to find �MacGyver� computers. Apparently built from a shoebox, a crusty battery, a piece of plexiglass, a light bulb and some rubber cement, it does not take well to the adding of new programs. Frankly it doesn�t take well to you tapping about on it either. Hell, some days even looking at it will cause a fatal error. If I were to try and add lots of song files to it, I�m afraid I�d have a mutiny on my hands.

2. The last CD you bought was?

Let�s see...I believe it was a mix type CD of �70s tunes. I am a sucka for the music of the �70s. Would you like an explanation as to why that is? Me too.

3. What is the song you last listened to before this message?

Mr. Brightside by The Killers. I really, really love this band. Incidentally, a couple of years ago I read the book Dreamcatcher by Stephen King. The book, I thought, was great. There was a movie of the same name, based on the book, released in 2003. It sucked eggs. For some very odd reason this song reminds me of a character in the book by the name of Mr. Gray. Yeah I don�t know either, y�all.

4. Write down five songs you often listen to, or that mean a lot to you.

Well, in the �often listen to� category there�s: Is It Good To You by Heavy D & The Boys, Baby Come Back by Player and Girls by Beastie Boys.

With respect to those that �mean a lot� there�s: Tequila Sunrise by the Eagles and Wonderful Tonight by Eric Clapton.

I know what you�re thinking. I imagine it�s one of two things. Either �Purple, could you please move into this millennium?� or, �Purple, could you pick some songs a little less cheesy than a Velveeta factory built on a foundation of swiss with a roof of cheddar?�

5. Who are you gonna pass this stick to (three persons and why)?

Robert Plant, Prince and Madonna. But since they probably won�t accept my stick, I�ll go with:

bigpimpinmba -- because he really needs to update and will make quick and interesting work out of this survey.
dinky-creek -- because I would think she�d have some great choices. We shall see.
poolagirl-- because if �Yo Ho, Yo Ho, A Pirate's Life For Me� is not one of her choices, there�s no justice.

6 comments so far

You Give Me Fervor - Friday, Feb. 17, 2006
Revamped Sex Camp - Thursday, Jan. 26, 2006
I'm Not Dead - Tuesday, Jan. 10, 2006
Ebert And Roeper? Watch Your Backs. - Tuesday, Nov. 29, 2005
Coffee? Tea? Map? - Monday, Nov. 07, 2005

� Purplecigar

[ Registered ]

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!