Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, May. 09, 2005 - 4:16 P.M.

It�s been a week since I could taste food. A week since my body was without ache; since I could walk around sans tissue. A week since I could swallow without pain and since I could sleep through the night. A week since I could go more than a three minute stretch without coughing. A week since my ears were not clogged up; since things have not come out of my body that look exactly like things in the body of the frog I dissected in ninth grade Anatomy/Physiology. A week since I have felt normal. For me.

I have a sinus infection y�all and it is a mother of a sinus infection. I am now on my second round of antibiotics and steroids.

About two-and-a-half years ago I had what I thought was a case of my old buddy pharyngitis. I jaunted (okay, more like dredged myself) on down to my local Doc-In-The-Box and was told I had a sinus infection. (Up to this point in my life I had never had trouble with my sinuses or allergies nor had I ever had a sinus infection. Since then? I�ve had about seven or eight.) I was a tinge skeptical with the diagnosis but, nonetheless, took their prescription for a Z-pack and Darvocet (for the aches and pains). Skeptical yet not stupid. Who would turn down Darvocet? At any rate I felt much better in a couple of days and that has been the case with every sinus infection since with the exception of the, thus far, unconquerable one I�m now dealing with.

I�ve even been told three times that I may have to have sinus surgery. You know where they go up your nose and scrape your sinuses out? Desperate as I am, that is not my idea of a solution. Yet. No, I�m more of a antibiotic/pain killer kind of gal.

So. Any suggestions out there? Any thing I can do to head-off the infection? Stop it from occurring? At this point, I�m up for anything. Go ahead--tell me about Aunt Alice who had had sinus problems all her life but after one session with a High Priestess of voodoo was cured forever. You can leave out the part where Aunt Alice now clucks like a chicken at the full moon or some such. I�m for being cured not cursed.

Any help would be appreciated as I feel like my body is the scene of the next Mucinex commercial.

No set decoration needed.

10 comments so far

You Give Me Fervor - Friday, Feb. 17, 2006
Revamped Sex Camp - Thursday, Jan. 26, 2006
I'm Not Dead - Tuesday, Jan. 10, 2006
Ebert And Roeper? Watch Your Backs. - Tuesday, Nov. 29, 2005
Coffee? Tea? Map? - Monday, Nov. 07, 2005

� Purplecigar

[ Registered ]

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!