Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Jul. 27, 2005 - 1:59 P.M.

When reading an article or listening to talk radio do y�all ever find yourselves adding (in your mind) the ubiquitous �finger quotes� to words that seem like they should have them or are given extra emphasis by italics or the speaker�s tone of voice? Like, who was the person that started the �finger quote� craze? I am so guilty of using them; use them all. the. time. It�s probably quite frustrating for my friends and family, actually. Am I the only one who wonders about nutty stuff like this? Yes?

There's something else that�s gotten my curiosity up lately. When I tell you what it is, one of three things will happen, either (a) you�ll say to yourself, �Yeah, I�ve always wondered about that too!�; (b) you�ll have no clue what I�m talking about but you will now begin to notice it; or (c) you�ll have no clue what I�m talking about and won�t care one whit anyway.

Shoes dangling from electric/telephone wires. I�ve been told several things--it�s a sign of drug activity and/or a drug dealer nearby, rival gangs mark their territory this way, and, that it means prostitution and/or sex is available in this area. I�ve even been told it means absolutely nothing other than the neighborhood kids were bored.

As is usually the case, whenever you want to know something these days you just hop on the Web. So I did. And guess what? There are articles as to the meaning behind it and there are sites detailing the urban legend-ness of the trend. Still, there seems to be no solid answer about what it means.

The reason this is on my mind at the moment is because every night on my way home I pass a �private club.� I�ve never been in this club but judging from its name (M�nages) and its home page I just looked up, I�m pretty sure I know what goes on in there. Clearly it�s a place for females to check out each other�s breath. Don�t believe me? Follow that link. Anyhoo, right around this club there are five pairs of shoes hanging from overhead wires. That seems like a lot for one area. AND the other day on my way home there was a new pair--a pair of baby shoes. Which, I mean, come on, that�s just not right.

Please help me make sense of it because the fact that there is some kid out there right now with no shoes because Mommy or Daddy needed some crack/gangbangin�/sex/entertainment is kinda squeegin� me out.

Danken jou.

6 comments so far

You Give Me Fervor - Friday, Feb. 17, 2006
Revamped Sex Camp - Thursday, Jan. 26, 2006
I'm Not Dead - Tuesday, Jan. 10, 2006
Ebert And Roeper? Watch Your Backs. - Tuesday, Nov. 29, 2005
Coffee? Tea? Map? - Monday, Nov. 07, 2005

� Purplecigar

[ Registered ]

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!