Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, Nov. 29, 2005 - 3:02 P.M.

This past week I saw Walk The Line. The raves the movie and the performers are receiving are much deserved as it�s a fine movie. Not a great movie, mind you (mostly because June Carter�s reticence to romance was never explained), nonetheless a very good way to pass some time. Despite being a lifelong Nashvillian the movie was an eye opener. I�m not sure when Johnny got put into the �country� category because he most definitely was not country in the beginning. Nor the end as far as I can tell. And Joaquin Phoenix didn�t just act as if he were Johnny Cash, he channeled him, became him. Fantastic performance.

By all accounts Reese Witherspoon is not the biggest female star in Hollywood (a title Jennifer Aniston seems to hold at the moment) however, I think Reese could out-act Ms. Aniston any day of the week and twice on Sunday. And I�m a Jennifer Aniston fan! Picture Perfect? Very good! The Good Girl? Even better! (And, no, I don't consider this role "dramatic.") She�s The One? Better still! Along Came Polly? Eh. Bruce Almighty? She was in that? I didn�t notice. What with all the Jim Carrey schtick and all.

I also saw Derailed recently, which, regardless of the fact it�s being marketed as (1) a Jennifer Aniston movie, and (2) representative of her desire to do more dramatic roles, is (1) not--it�s a Clive Owen movie (I�m �berpissed he�s not the new James Bond by the way), and (2) meh--if this is Jennifer being dramatic, well, I think we now know why she�s �handled the break-up of her marriage to Brad Pitt with such poise and grace� as lots of media folk have been saying lately---she is incapable of drama! I mean, she�s so good at the funny, quirky everygirl stuff, it�s hard to buy her as anything else. Even as desperately as she wants us to.

Moving on to Chicken Little. Disney? You should be ashamed of yourself. This movie is not just bad it�s horrendously bad. You know how I know that? Because my 3� year old was more interested in trying to bite off, one-by-one, the tiny white balls from the Sno-Caps he was holding than he was in that movie. And that�s a lot of work, yo. Especially for a kid who can�t be bothered to unwrap gum before he sticks it in his mouth. Future patrons? I urge you to run don�t walk AWAY from this movie.

DreamWorks Animation SKG? Right on! Madagascar? Good! Could have been GREAT but as it is, is still better than most. It takes several viewings to fully enjoy it (by which I mean, to get all the jokes) which I�m not crazy about. C�mon! We�re living in a microwave popcorn, instant coffee society, people! I need jokes the first time around. Also? It needs more, more, more of the cheeky monkeys and the militaristically-inclined penguins.

Speaking of penguins, March of the Penguins? Excellent. Except for the whole they-travel-miles-and-miles-to-the-ocean-only-to-get-eaten-by-hungry-sharks-in-a-frenetic-and-bloody-m�l�e-but-that�s-nature-so-deal-with-it thing. Otherwise, well done.

And since we�re talking about frenetic and bloody, recently I saw a movie that�s a few years old but can�t be beat for some good ass kicking, stunt fighting action. The Transporter? Fantastic! Why did it not do better when it was out? Memo to its star Jason Statham: I�d really like it if you could drop by my house and take off all of your clothes. Thank you.

I�m going to have to add him to my Sex Camp list. Incidentally, just as the creator of the game has done recently, I want to post an updated Sex Camp list soon. No doubt bigpimpinmba will poke fun at my choices. Perhaps I�ll ask him to post his list.

Finally, Diana Ross�s agent has confirmed that she and Jon Voight are dating.

You�re so welcome! I didn�t want to live with that mental image all by myself. I hope Santa will be leaving a little therapy in my stocking this year.

5 comments so far

You Give Me Fervor - Friday, Feb. 17, 2006
Revamped Sex Camp - Thursday, Jan. 26, 2006
I'm Not Dead - Tuesday, Jan. 10, 2006
Ebert And Roeper? Watch Your Backs. - Tuesday, Nov. 29, 2005
Coffee? Tea? Map? - Monday, Nov. 07, 2005

� Purplecigar

[ Registered ]

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!