Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, May. 24, 2004 - 3:47 P.M.

I used to write sporadically. That is, not every day or even every week. I�m not sure of the reason, but lately the need to write has consumed me. I must write something without fail everyday. Even a grocery list written with creative flair will suffice. (�Toothpaste---for the cleanliness of every mouth. Frozen chicken---that many may eat. Deli Meat---so that one shan�t have to cook.�)

Because of this all-consuming need, I carry about 7 diskettes around with me that contain something I�m either in the process of writing or have written. One disk in particular is for DiaryLand entries only. This disk contains the entries I have written and posted as well as entries I have not yet posted. It also contains scads of ideas for entries. These ideas all have disclaimers at the top which apparently were written by my painfully honest alternate personality, one that I wish I could call on when family visits. Seems painfully honest alternate personality takes a vacay at that time and painfully pushover alternate personality takes up residence.

Anyhow, allow me to introduce you to my creative process�

IDEA FOR ENTRY TO BE POSTED SOMETIME-----NEEDS SERIOUS POLISH.

Translation--Serious polish. Not namby-pamby polish. SERIOUS polish. It�s rough. Seriously rough.

ENTRY IDEA-----OH, YOU�VE GOT TO BE KIDDING! NO WAY. DON�T LET THIS SEE THE LIGHT OF DAY. STICK IT IN A BOX AND NAIL THE LID SHUT. QUICKLY.

Translation--This blows. Like, hard.

POSSIBLE ENTRY IDEA-----MOSTLY SHIT.

Translation--It�s mostly shit. And isn�t that comforting and nice to see every time you open the document? That�ll get the ol� creative juices flowing!

MAYBE/COULD BE IDEA FOR POSSIBLE ENTRY-----IF IT DIDN�T SUCK SO BAD. GET A GRIP. WHAT THE HELL IS THIS?

Translation--Come now, Girl. If you post this the Hoover Corporation will contact you about patenting your suckage. Nyet.

This diskette is littered with phrases, turns of phrase, one sentence ideas (which, if you read my last entry, you�d know does not bode well for remembrance), half written entries, pretty much complete entries, totally complete entries and what have you. I siphon through it all on my way to do a new entry. So, I�d like to ask you all this: Are you all as exacting when you do an entry or are you freaks of nature and it just arrives perfect on the page? �Cause, I�ll tell you, no matter how many times I proof, there�s still something wrong, something to change or clarify further. When I paste an entry I go immediately to the entry and read it as it posted. Invariably there will be many, many things I have to go back and edit.

I�ve read articles where authors will say it took them 7 or 10 or 15 years to complete the book. I�m thinking, �Hersh! That�s a long time. What the frig took so long on a book about flippin� wombats?� But then, I know. Because I would edit and re-edit and re-write my book until books were no longer made of paper and The Jetsons lived just around the next skyscraper.

That�s if I was going to write a book. Which, I�m not. Or, I mean, I might someday. But, it won�t be about wombats.

Opossums, maybe.

10 comments so far

You Give Me Fervor - Friday, Feb. 17, 2006
Revamped Sex Camp - Thursday, Jan. 26, 2006
I'm Not Dead - Tuesday, Jan. 10, 2006
Ebert And Roeper? Watch Your Backs. - Tuesday, Nov. 29, 2005
Coffee? Tea? Map? - Monday, Nov. 07, 2005

� Purplecigar

[ Registered ]

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!