Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, Feb. 15, 2005 - 4:30 P.M.

I think I�m pretty smart, ya know? I mean, I�m no rocket scientist and I know I�d not qualify for MENSA but all in all, I think I�m an intelligent person. Or, I sure like to think so, anyway.

Most of the time when I�m tapping out an entry I�m just cruisin� right along paying no mind whatsoever to spelling or punctuation. Spelling, thanks to "spell check," has become virtually a non-issue. Punctuation is taken care of to the best of my ability after everything is written. Trust me, I know I suck hard on punctuation. I know there is at least one teacher who reads this page and she most likely has seizures every single time.

Now, I realize that the computer has a handy dandy grammar checker as well. I have disabled mine, though, due to the fact that the letters I often type are written by people who are even worse with grammar than myself. Therefore, I�d spend an hour correcting just one of them only to be told to put it back the way it was written to begin with.

I use the words �they�re,� �their,� �there,� �your� and �you�re� a lot. Although I do, in fact, know the difference in these words somehow it seems that a lot of the time I use them incorrectly at first writing. Upon reviewing what I�ve written I�ll come upon this mistake and say to myself, �Self? You are an idiot.� Quickly, I will correct it. However, sometimes not. Sometimes it remains until I open my own diary page and read the entry and see the error. Then I�ll say to myself, �Self? People reading? Think you are an idiot.�

And then what? Well, I�ll tell you, I feel like sending out a mass e-mail stating that I know I used the wrong word (knew it all along, did it on purpose). And please, please don�t think poorly of me and my screwed up grammar usage. But of course I don�t. So you can just think of this entry as my blanket statement of the fact that I really do know the difference.

And now you can all talk amongst yourselves about how big of a loser I am that I felt the need (read: �intense burning desire�) to even do this entry at all. Go ahead. I won�t mind.

Your free to do as you please.

Their certainly aren�t any rules against it.

11 comments so far

You Give Me Fervor - Friday, Feb. 17, 2006
Revamped Sex Camp - Thursday, Jan. 26, 2006
I'm Not Dead - Tuesday, Jan. 10, 2006
Ebert And Roeper? Watch Your Backs. - Tuesday, Nov. 29, 2005
Coffee? Tea? Map? - Monday, Nov. 07, 2005

� Purplecigar

[ Registered ]

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!